PSA Message

My RoadID wrist band... I never ride without it.

Today’s ride, which was full of crazed motorists, reminded me of the importance of a little inexpensive piece of riding gear which should be on your must have list. I’m referring to my RoadID wrist band, a small, comfortable, unobtrusive wrist band which contains all your contact information in case of mishap. For about $20, you basically get an “insurance policy” that will speak for you if you can’t speak for yourself.

Each year over 450,000 people are taken to hospitals unconscious and without ID. Year after year, over 122,000 runners, walkers, and cyclists are hit by cars. Thousands more suffer blackouts, concussions, heart attacks, heat strokes and other serious accidents. The National Safe Kids Campaign estimates that “every day, 39,000 children are injured seriously enough to require medical attention.”

The bands are very comfortable and stylish, but if a wristband isn’t your cup of tea, RoadID also makes six other forms of ID gear including shoe pouches, ankle bands, and shoe straps, allowing you to carry your vital contact information in the most unobtrusive way.

I always thought RoadID products were a great idea, but I never got around to buying one thinking I would never get in an accident. Needless to say after my brush with that silver Chevy last year, I immediately purchased a RoadID wrist band in bright red (I figure the brighter the better making easier for first responders to see in case of mishap) and always wear it when I ride. In fact I’m getting one for my young son. It’s an ideal ID for him in case we ever get separated in a busy location like a theme park.

If you are a cyclist, runner, jogger, walker, hiker, climber, skater, skier, boarder, or someone who doesn’t spend all of their time on the couch, I’d highly recommend you visit the RoadID website, look over all the testimonials and purchase an ID band. It’s $20 well spent which may save your life some day.

I rode my standard 25 mile Lakes Regional Park loop today. As expected, the old sit bones were a bit on the tender side, but I pushed on and logged the full 25 anyways…I’ll take a day off tomorrow and give the old tuckus a break.

Route: Lakes Regional Park
Activity: Cycle
Started: Feb 1, 2011 8:53:57 AM
Ride Time: 1:53:23
Stopped Time: 32:14
Distance: 25.30 miles
Average: 13.39 miles/h
Fastest Speed: 22.73 miles/h
Climb: 40 feet
Calories: 1586
Official Route: No

Leave a Reply

