Creaky Bones

Not a graying beard or the occasional creaky joint will stop my century quest.

I took a break from riding last week after developing mild stiffness and a strange clicking sensation in my right knee. There was no pain or visible deformity, but it did feel a bit fatigued, and would click/creak while walking. A Father’s Day weekend beach break pretty much resolved the issue (amazing how a dip in the ocean seems to cure all maladies), but being that these bones are not as young as they used to be, a figured a break was in order. Actually it was good timing as mother nature has been dumping some odd timed rains down here in SW Florida.

With the knee break behind me, I jumped on the bike and did a normal 30 mile run, but at lower cadence (86-88 rpm vs >96 rpm). It felt good to get back on the bike, and more importantly, my knee felt great. It’s as if nothing was wrong in the first place. Although I hate to admit it, I guess we just get a little creaky with age. The trick is knowing how much to push without making those bones break down.

So it’s back to my normal riding schedule. Hopefully I’ll make up some of the missed miles this week and long weekend. I’ve been looking to increase my mileage a bit. Here are today’s low cadence numbers.

Route: Treeline
Ride Time: 2:02:27
Stopped Time: 25:35
Distance: 30.47 miles
Average: 14.93 miles/h
Fastest Speed: 20.06 miles/h
Ascent: 134 feet
Descent: 105 feet
Calories: 1719

Leave a Reply

