Phlegm Phiting Phorty Miler

A view of the new aerobars while drafting off Señor J into a stiff wind down Tree Line.
I’m back on my bike after fighting a kiddie cold for the last five days. For those of you who do not have kids, there really isn’t much worse than when your little ones pass down a cold to you. What is normally a mild cold for them can leave you feeling like you have been hit by a Mac truck and left in a pile of snot, phlegm, and other nastiness. Kudos to Vicks for inventing Nyquil, it doesn’t cure you or speed up the recovery, but at least it knocks you out and lets you sleep off the cold.

Luckily I flet well enough to make my Thursday afternoon appointment to get some aerobars fitted to my bike. I’ve been kicking around the idea of aerobars for a bit, especially as we enter our windy season down here in Florida. I know they are often frowned upon for group rides/pace lines, but used properly, they offer many advantages on the flat terrain we have down here.

Suffice it to say that on today’s phlegm churning 40 mile ride (congested? jump on your bike and ride against a 15 MPH headwind for an hour…it’s guaranteed to clear out your lungs) having a comfortable low aero position on the bike easily increased my speed by 2 to 3 MPH.

I’ll be testing and fine tuning the bars for the next few rides. Once I’m fully dialed in, I’ll cover the aerobar topic in greater detail, but for now, I’m off to Disney with my family for a real scheduled break to enjoy some gastronomic excess at the Epcot Food and Wine Festival. Cheers and Bon Appetite!

Route: Coconut-40
Ride Time: 2:28:41
Stopped Time: 1:37:21
Distance: 40.75 miles
Average: 16.45 mph
Fastest Speed: 24.50 mph
Ascent: 3000 feet
Descent: 3015 feet
Calories: 2402

Leave a Reply

