Photosynthetically Powered

Might this have been my Mom?

6CO2 + 6H2O ==> C6H12O6 + 6O2

Remember that? It’s the equation for photosynthesis. You know, the chemical process that converts carbon dioxide into organic compounds, especially sugars, using the energy from sunlight. In short, it’s what makes plants tick. Well after today’s grey, wet, windy ride, I’ve come to the realization that I must be partially photosynthetic since without the sun being present my legs turn into noodles.

I’m sure the cool weather and extreme wind had something to do with it too, but in general, I just don’t seem to perform on the bike as well when the sun refuses to come out. Sure it might be psychological, subconscious, shenanigans on my brains part, but the bottom line is, my legs don’t seem to have any oomph in them when it’s a dreary day, even when they are fresh. Who knows, perhaps my chlorophyl levels were a bit low.

Perhaps I’ve finally acclimated and turned into a Floridian after all these years. We’re spoiled down here, accustomed to nearly year round warm sunny days. Heck you have more fingers than the number of gray days here in Florida. Sure we have our rainy season, tropical storms and our infamous hurricane season, but even in the most severe storms, the sun still manages to shine through strongly (first hand experience here as I’ve been through the eye of a good number of hurricanes, including the 2004 trifecta of Charley, Frances and Jeanne).

I guess my Chicago blood has thinned more than ever. After all, it’s been over 30 years since I left the Windy City… By the way, Chicago is not significantly windier than any other U.S. city as it’s average wind speed is a calm 10.3 MPH. It gets it nickname from New York Sun editor named Charles Dana back in 1933 when he wrote, “Don’t pay any attention”, wrote Charles A. Dana, day in and day out in his New York Sun, “to the nonsensical claims of that windy city. Its people could not build a World’s Fair even if they won it”, after Chicago beat out New York to host the Worlds Fair.

Lets hope the dark reaction of photosynthesis kicks in to recharges my batteries until the sun returns…which, knowing Florida, will be just a few hours at most.

Finished Cycle: Feb 11, 2012 11:18:25 AM
Route: Cocunut-40
Ride Time: 2:21:23
Stopped Time: 27:19
Distance: 38.31 miles
Average: 16.26 mph
Fastest Speed: 29.75 mph
Ascent: 862 feet
Descent: 868 feet
Calories: 2079

Leave a Reply

