Milestone Ride: 2K in 2012

2k in 2012, 6k more to go! A slightly belated tooting of my own horn as I broke the 2,000 mile mark for 2012. I actually passed the mark during the Sunday’s metric century, but I guess I was just too busy keeping up with the fast kids to notice. I’m currently on track for approximately 7,000 miles this year with a current average of 570 miles per month. Although that would be 3,000 more miles than last year, I’ll go out on a limb and try to double last years mileage and push for the 8,000 mile mark.

In honor of this little milestone, lets revisit some lifetime stats, which I affectionately call, the donut meter. I’ve racked up a total of 6,043 miles, which is nearly 1/4 away around this little planet of ours (trust me it does not seem so little when your method of traveling is by bike). Those 6k miles equal a whopping 1,773 donuts (I don’t even think I eat a half dozen donuts in a year), 318.09 gallons of gas saved, 4,249 TV’s powered and 93 pounds of fat burned. Now of course that last number is not pounds lost, but I have managed to loose nearly 40 pounds and over 4″ in my waistline. By summers end I should be down to my college weight!

Blog-wise, I’ve made 188 posts, which, thanks to you all, are getting more views than ever before. Readership continues to climb, with current numbers already more than doubling last years busiest month. The vast majority of visitors continue to come from the good old US of A, while the UK and Canada, our great white neighbors from the north, come in at very strong second and third. Italy, Turkey, Australia, France, Germany, Netherlands, and Spain round out the top 10 countries…heck I even got some visits from people in Iceland!!!

 

As for key words, the most common search phrase was “sit bones” followed by the always puzzling “naked cycling”…I might just have to take the plunge and commit to a World Naked Bike Ride to justify all those visits, but thankfully many other search phrases were cycling related.

So a big thank you to all that follow my miscellaneous ramblings. I’ll keep on racking up the miles and continue to babble about them on this blog. I’m still in planning stages for my big Isle of  Bones Tour (Fort Myers to Key West ride). Logistics, mainly Easter break, got in the way of my first window of opportunity, but there will be many windows available throughout the year…stay tuned for more.

Oh, and here’s a little something for those searching for naked cycling. After all, I don’t want you to feel left out 😉

Route: Coconut-40
Ride Time: 2:12:58
Stopped Time: 36:25
Distance: 38.50 miles
Average: 17.37 mph
Fastest Speed: 28.50 mph
Ascent: 149 feet
Descent: 253 feet
Calories: 2264

Leave a Reply

