Old Fart Run Part Douze: Disney Legs

I’m back on my bike after an rather extended break of seven days. My last rides were the very wet run to Coconut Point and the Ride of Silence, both last Wednesday. It’s hard to believe I let an entire week go by without jumping on my bike, but then I had a good excuse…I was enjoying Star Wars Weekends at Disney’s Hollywood Studios.

Jedi Mickey taught us the ways of the Force.

Now don’t get the wrong impression. I’m not a light saber toting, Jedi geek, in fact I was never really a Star Wars fan (Jar-Jar Binks and Dancing teddy bears just don’t do it for me), until my youngling….err son became fascinated with all things Star Wars after playing Lego Star Wars on his Wii.

Being big Disney fans, we decided to check out the Star Wars Weekends last year and we were instantly hooked. The combination of Disney magic and the might of the Lucas marketing machine are a, dare I say “Force” to be reckoned with. We could hardly wait for this years event to start. By the way, Star Wars Weekends are held on four consecutive weekends (Friday-Sunday) during the months of May and June at Disney’s Hollywood Studios. The park is transformed into a Star Wars playground featuring the most popular characters of the legendary saga, as well as the animated Cone Wars television series. Each weekend, you can join celebrities and characters for special shows, panels, presentations and more!

The Force was strong with my son as he not only defeated Darth Vader but also tangled with a couple of misguided Storm Troopers

Star Wars fan or not, you just can’t help get caught up with all the excitement particularly the indescribable Hyper Space Hoopla, which has to be seen to be believed. There are three weekends of festivities left, so be sure to check it out…it’s out of this world fun!

OK, so back to planet Earth and some two wheeled fun. Not having ridden for a week, I was really hoping that today’s ride with the Caloosa gang would be an extremely rare, real recovery ride, especially after spending so many days at Disney. If you assumed a long break off the bike would leave you with fresh legs and well rested, you’d generally be correct…that is unless it was spent at Disney World with a bunch of hyper-enthused kids. The walking, playing, standing, eating, heat, impromptu light saber battles, etc all adds up leaving you longing for a relaxing vacation after the vacation you just had. I’m not complaining, but having so much fun can really wear you out.

Epic Light Saber battles spontaneously broke out throughout the day.

You’d be surprised at how much you walk at a Disney Park. The average quoted number is between 10 to 15 miles, not including walking to transports or hotels. Add to that all the standing, dancing, jumping, etc, and you end up with pretty tired legs, a phenomena I like to call “Disney Legs.” Last year I made the mistake of participating in a Metric Century the day after returning from a Disney trip. Needless to say, the best my legs could manage after the first hour of riding was a 20 mph spin. They were absolutely lifeless and heavy…perhaps I should have asked the Disney Imagineers for a pair of Audio animatronic legs!

To say the park was packed would be a gross understatement.

Today was no different. My legs were heavy, and my knees were stiff, and just to compound the issue, we decided to ride up around the 26-27 MPH mark for a good part of the ride. To say it was a struggle would be an understatement, but I switched over to diesel mode and churned out the revolutions to keep the pace up. I wasn’t much of a puller though, preferring to wheel-suck my way through the ride, but I did manage a couple of pulls, after all we all have to pull our weight in a pace line. Hopefully these old legs will have more life in them tomorrow as we take another island tour of Sanibel and Captiva.

Route: Coconut-40
Ride Time: 2:06:09
Stopped Time: 59:57
Distance: 38.25 miles
Average: 18.19 mph
Fastest Speed: 26.95 mph
Ascent: 589 feet
Descent: 635 feet
Calories: 1848

Leave a Reply

