2012 in Review: The Bloggers Perspective

Last post I took a retrospective look at 2012, reminiscing about all my two wheeled experiences throughout the year. Today we’ll take a behind the scenes look at one of the guilty pleasures afforded by my cycling shenanigans; my verborrheic ramblings, more commonly known as blogging.

Screen shot 2013-01-06 at 11.37.04 PM

Before proceeding, I wanted to reiterate that I am not a writer by any stretch of the imagination. Nor do I have any kind of formal writing background, hell I’m even a crappy typist. Yet I continue to be amazed, flattered and humbled by the ever increasing number of people who routinely visit my little cycling hacienda on the web. Thank you all again for allowing me to bring a little of my world of cycling into your busy lives. Now, onto the numbers.

According to WordPress’ snazzy year end blogging report, which by the way even includes fireworks, “4,329 films were submitted to the Cannes Film Festival. This blog had 292,000 views in 2012. If each view were a film, this blog would power 67 film festivals“…odd analogy, particularly since the filmgoing elite and cycling typically do not have anything in common, but the point here is 292,000 views! That’s an average of 800 a day!

So where did you all come from? Short answer…Earth, and a lot of it. A total of 130 countries are represented in the viewers logs. Of these, the good old USA leads with the highest number of visitors, followed by the UK and our neighbors from the north, Canada. Australia, Germany, France, Netherlands, Italy, Belgium, and Japan make up the top ten. Even people from Brunei Darussalam, Mauritius, and the Northern Mariana Islands came by to visit…I had to launch Google Earth to find them.

Screen shot 2013-01-06 at 9.49.48 PM

So how did they find me. Well, like last year, the number one keyword was, “Sit Bones“, always a rather sensitive topic to all cyclists. “Century ride” comes in at number two while, of all things  “naked” comes in at number three…curious, as I have yet to take part in a World Naked Bike Ride, nor have I ever cycled naked in any way, yet it still continues to be one of the top keywords. The key world list contains just about every variation and combination of naked you can imagine including, naked bike, nude bicycle, naked mile, nude cyclist, naked bike day, nude biking, world naked bike ride, and naked bike ride Cork, just to name a few. Thankfully there are many real cycling keywords such as Trek Madone, Bontrager Circuit, Cycling, FSA Omega, and Scicon Hippo 550, as well as some very curious ones like Lhasa Apso, Jar Jar Binks, whatever “велосипедисты” means.

naked-bike-ride-cork-1_fU2wz_11446

The top referring site was Google, no surprise there, followed by FaceBook, WordPress, the forums at Road Bike Review, and Scicon’s blog (they featured a couple of my posts on their blog…Grazie!). While the most popular tags were Cycling, SW Florida and Trek.

Of the 310 posts I’ve written….damn I’ve written that many!…the most popular was “Sci’con Hippo 550“, a review about the slick saddle bag I use. Followed by “Metric Century” and “Udderly Smooth, Bag Balm, Butt Butter“. I was happy to see  the post entitled “Bike Virginia“, which was written by my friend and  guest blogger, in the top 5, as well as the Velominoti Rules…our sacred cycling rules.

So what do these stats say about us….first off, the world continues to shrink, as a couple of taps on the keyboard can transcend literally thousands of miles, languages and cultures. We all share an interest for all things cycling, and apparently nudity…well at least that is more tolerable than Jar Jar Binks. I guess I’ll have to put that theory to the test some day and actually write about Jar Jar and naked cycling some day…anyone up for participating in a World Naked Bike Ride? Guest bloggers are always welcomed!

jarjar

In the mean time, I’ll continue to hunt and peck my way around the keyboard after each ride and do my best to keep you all up to date, and hopefully entertained about our two wheeled escapades down here in sunny Florida.

Saturday 1/5/13
Route: Coconut-40
Ride Time: 2:37:52
Stopped Time: 1:17:03
Distance: 38.24 miles
Average: 14.54 mph
Fastest Speed: 27.41 mph
Ascent: 996 feet
Descent: 977 feet
Calories: 2157

Click for Ride Data

Sunday 1/6/13
Route: Coconut-40 + Airport Loop
Ride Time: 2:27:40
Stopped Time: 1:04:07
Distance: 43.14 miles
Average: 17.53 mph
Fastest Speed: 27.71 mph
Ascent: 1798 feet
Descent: 1801 feet
Calories: 2212

Click for Ride Data

Leave a Reply

