Tits on a Bull

Today’s title pretty much sums up what I felt like after logging 300 miles over 6 consecutive days on the bike. It’s not to say I was totally useless, after all I wheel sucked extremely well during today’s 50 mile beach ride, but I certainly wasn’t riding like my usual self.

IMG_9068

My power was down, as well as my ability to take long sustained pulls up front. Although I didn’t shy away from pulls today, pedaling up front was not nearly as enjoyable as it normally is. I’m sure the consecutive days and the overall mileage played a part in this, but the biggest culprit I believe was the colder mornings we have been experiencing this week. Cold weather just sucks the power out of my legs, even while wearing “adequate” gear. Hopefully the colder mornings are finally behind us.

IMG_9075

Perhaps a day’s rest is in order. After all, too much of a good thing is bad for you…even if it’s on two wheels. Regardless though, it’s been another enjoyable week of riding with great friends.

On another note, I wanted to congratulate all my friends who traveled down to the “Republic of Miami” and took part in the ING Miami Marathon. Way to kick ass! Who knows, perhaps some day I might join you all.

Saturday, January 26
Route: Bonita Beach Road Loop
Ride Time: 2:49:25
Stopped Time: 1:05:42
Distance: 49.30 miles
Average: 17.46 mph
Fastest Speed: 25.00 mph
Calories: 2576
Cycle This Month: 636.79 miles
Cycle This Year: 636.79 miles

Click for Ride Data

Sunday, Jan 27
Route: Beach Loop
Ride Time: 2:47:29
Stopped Time: 38:28
Distance: 50.59 miles
Average: 18.12 mph
Fastest Speed: 29.06 mph
Calories: 2605
Cycle This Month: 687.37 miles
Cycle This Year: 687.37 miles

Click for Ride Data

Leave a Reply

