Lacing Up, Day Two: Not That Terribad

Today was day two, well technically day one after my mulligan, of my foray into running, and although my legs are still feeling the first days efforts, today was really not all that bad. Ok, perhaps that’s not quite right, but it certainly sucked less than Tuesday attempt.

IMG_9217
My old sneaks…definitely not as sexy or racy as “The Mistress”, but they are getting the job done, for now.

My friends Gus and Tina, as well as my wife, who does not even have the word run in her vocabulary, joined me on today’s reboot run. Luckily this time I had the right workout selected on Cyclemeter. Speaking of which, I found the settings for the auditory prompts between the run/walk modes, so it’s time to find a belt or arm band for the iPhone.

Having my wife and friends present made the run much more tolerable, especially since both Gus and Tina are experienced runners. They were quick to offer badly needed tips and pointers along the route, that is after they scoffed and ridiculed my woefully inadequate shoes and running attire. We worked on both my form and pace which almost made the run enjoyable suck a whole lot less. What I did learn though is, I have a lot to learn about running, the most important being patience, something I am not really good at.

The workout ended quicker than we expected, well except for my wife, she was more than happy to hear me say “cool down”. Gus even thought that we had skipped one of the walk run intervals, but they were all accounted for. On the walk back, we were treated to a special sight. Three deer were in the neighborhood working on a “little landscaping”. It’s always a treat to catch a glimpse of wildlife in your own back yard.

After the run, we went back to my home to review the numbers and talk a little more about running. Curiously, my biggest concern was why all the running shoes come in such garish colors? They look like an 80’s fashion disaster crying to be paired up with a some MC Hammer parachute pants. What’s wrong with white? White is cool and very profesional looking, well at least in the cycling world. You are never going to find day glow colors on ones handlebars. Sure our kits may be a bit loud, but not that loud. Hopefully I’ll find the right shoe in a more fashion conscious color. My wife on the other hand is excited about all the color options….no surprise there. Time to do some window shopping this weekend.

 

Running: 5K Plan
Run Time: 40:44
Stopped Time: 0:00
Distance: 2.52 miles
Average: 16:09 /mile
Fastest Pace: 9:51 /mile
Calories: 277
5K This Month: 5.21 miles
5K This Year: 5.21 miles

Click for Run Data

One thought on “Lacing Up, Day Two: Not That Terribad

Leave a Reply

