Lacing Up, Day Three: Running away from home

My son had a four day weekend from school scheduled, so we packed up our bags and headed up to the Florida Heartland to spend some time with Grandma in Sebring. I was extremely tempted to bring my bike along and squeeze in some rides on the rolling terrain, but with a to do list longer than my arm, as well as forecasted chilly temperatures, I decided to just pack some “running gear” and settle for some thump, thump, thumping instead.

20130216-195145.jpg

No sooner had we arrived in Sebring, I was handed the official “sonny-do list”…curiously similar to the honey-do lists my own wife prepares for me, only this one was heavier on outdoor acrobatic stunts…for example, pick all the remaining oranges from all the citrus trees in the yard. Of coarse all the low hanging fruit had already been picked clean leaving me the joy of balancing precariously up on a ladder. Also on the list were exciting chores like cleaning out the pool filter, repairing the broken sprinklers, trimming the hedges, fertilizing the yard, fixing the central vacuum, well, you get the idea. Not the most exciting things to look forward to over a 4 day break, but the company and home cooked meals more than make up for it. I’m currently writing this while being seduced by the mouthwatering aroma of a classic Cuban Arroz Con Pollo simmering in the oven…good thing I brought the the old sneaks, otherwise I’d be coming back home 5 pounds heavier.

Speaking of the sneakers, I actually was looking forward to today’s little run. Either I’m acclimating quickly, or I was welcoming the break from reprogramming the multiple-zone irrigation system. My wife begrudgingly joined me on the crisp run down the Harder Hall fairways as we followed the now audible prompts from Cyclemeter…it’s so much nicer not having to watch the screen.

20130216-195347.jpg

The run was less annoying than the last, especially since we both consciously worked on our form, in particular, foot placement. Proper foot strike really makes a huge difference…thanks for the tips Gus and Tina. Maggie almost gave up on the last run interval, but she resisted the temptation and finished up with a smile on her face cursing me, the shoes and the road.

Running: 5K Plan
Run Time: 29:06
Stopped Time: 0:00
Distance: 2.01 miles
Average: 14:28 /mile
Fastest Pace: 10:25 /mile
Calories: 232
5K This Month: 7.22 miles
5K This Year: 7.22 miles

Click for Run Data

Leave a Reply

