Lacing Up, Day Seven: Meme Me

Well week two of our running trek has been completed, and sure enough, just as my run-loving friends claimed, it has not only been getting easier, but also somewhat enjoyable. Mind you, nothing like the enjoyment cycling brings, but strangely enough, I actually have been enjoying the runs, even with the inevitable thump, thump, thumping that comes with it.

runsmile

No doubt a large part of this strange fascination I am developing with running is due to my wife. As a non cyclist she has always had a very hard time relating to all my two wheeled escapades, but now that she is going through the same hell living the same experiences that I am, we have a new common ground as well as goals that we can share. It’s rather amusing watching her spend free late night hours window shopping online for running related gear, something I do all too frequently when it comes to cycling gear. Heck, she even has some sites bookmarked…good thing too as she is quite the expert at finding deals.

Although short, at least for the time being, our runs together are filled with all kinds of little pep talks, goofy comments, a lot of swearing, mostly from her, and the occasional high five, particularly on the last running interval. Apart from the occasional wayward car, we are completely focused on each other and the task at hand. It’s become “quality time”, the highlight being kicking back on the front porch bench at the end of the run and shooting the breeze.

It’s hard to admit, being an adamant running hater, but I can actually get used to this. I’m not going to go on record, at least not yet, and say that I like running, but frankly, it’s not that bad. Still a little motivation helps, and what better motivation is there than to goof on oneself with a meme…

rex

…nothing like an angry T-Rex to get the juices, and the thumping going! I’m sure everyone would set new PR’s with a critter like that running behind them.

Speaking of motivation and support, I wanted to give a little shout out to some of my cycling friends, in particular Larry, Donna and Murray who, with their friend Don, will be cycling across America come May. Their journey will start in San Francisco, California ending 75 days later in Yorktown, Virginia. Sea to shining sea averaging 200 to 300 miles a week. I’d join them in a heartbeat if I had the time. You can follow their adventures on their blog, Pedaling Across America.

Another friend who deserves some support of the therapeutic kind, is my friend Jeff from the Caloosa Riders. He had a rather traumatic accident on his bike resulting in numerous broken ribs, broken hip and a punctured lung. He is out of the hospital now making good progress. I’m sure he will be back on his bike in no time…get well buddy!

Oh and least I forget, Jill, whom I had the pleasure of cycling with on Sunday. She’s “putting in the miles” for her first half triathlon up in Ocala. I’m sure she will kick some serious butt up there!

Running: 5K Plan
Run Time: 37:32
Stopped Time: 0:00
Distance: 2.46 miles
Average: 15:16 /mile
Fastest Pace: 10:25 /mile
Calories: 265
5K This Month: 17.42 miles
5K This Year: 17.42 miles

Click for Run Data

Sunday, February 24
Route: Following Jill
Ride Time: 2:37:23
Stopped Time: 46:55
Distance: 42.95 miles
Average: 16.37 mph
Fastest Speed: 24.33 mph
Calories: 2296
Cycle This Month: 395.38 miles
Cycle This Year: 1119.99 miles

Click for Ride Data

Leave a Reply

