Testing, Testing…The Shakedown.

After four days of elevating, icing, and general resting of my rolled ankle, I thought it was about time to give it a shakedown ride. The swelling has pretty much subsided and almost all the bruising has faded. It doesn’t hurt, which is a good thing, but I have to admit that it doesn’t feel completely stable, hence why I elected to go the low impact route and test it via cycling instead of running.
tt3

A classic Caloosa Riders “recovery ride”, which is really is a hammerfest in disguise, would be the perfect test, especially since the day was particularly windy…the March lion has been roaring down here in Florida as we’ve had exceptionally cold mornings and extremely windy days. I elected to ride out with the controlled group which normally hovers around the 20 MPH mark.

The wind was a our back, so it was easy to hold the pace without any discomfort. Start/stops, clipping in and out was a non issue, a welcomed change from Saturday’s 70 mile ride. Even taking the lead and pulling was painless. This changed a bit on the return ride though as we were barreling into a 15+ MPH wind. Instead of riding back with the controlled group, I elected to ride with the uncontrolled faster group, where speeds have been known to climb near the 30 MPH mark on numerous occasions. The strong headwind made it a chore to excede 21 MPH as we settled in around 20 MPH. Sitting in the pace line behind other riders didn’t feel bad, but I could definitely feel a bit of a strain in my ankle when taking a pull. After attempting a couple of short pulls, I decided it would be best if I “wheel sucked” my way back, luckily the guys had no objections and pulled me all the way back home…thanks guys.

Another easier test was in order today as my friend Wisnick invited us down to North Collier Regional Park for a tour down to Gordon’s Pass in Naples. This time the ride was all about relaxation and fun, in fact we turned into sightseers as we cruised through the opulence of the mega-affluent…it’s always impressive to see 30,000 square foot “winter cottages”. The extremely relaxed pace was exactly what the old ankle needed. Just an easy spin, while watching the vistas roll by, while chatting away with good friends, as well as a very well timed lunch break at the 5TH Avenue Coffee Company & 6TH Street Diner.

Not sure how I ever missed this gem, as the food was great. I had a California Panini…Turkey, Guacamole, Provolone Cheese, Tomato and Pesto Sauce, while Tina, Anke and Wisnick had the very appetizing Scrabbled Egg Stuffed Tomato with Avocado & Feta Cheese. Tina even snuck in a chocolate filled baked goodie….hey it was a touring ride, we are allowed to pig out! It sure beat the hell out of our normal Bad Ass Coffee/Seven Eleven stop in Naples.

Our easy paced return negated the effects of a very strong headwind, bringing us back to North Collier Regional Park, where we took a fun little boardwalk detour and then packed up our bikes to go check out the all new Fit2Run store that recently opened up at Coconut Point. Hopefully my ankle will be back to normal next week so I can hop on their high tech treadmills for a gait analysis and finally get some new sneaks!

Speaking of sneaks and running, I just wanted to give a little shout out to my wife who is doing a great job running, working her way up to her first 5K. I was able to pace her on my bike when I got back from my Wednesday ride…way to kick ass sweetie!

Wednesday, March 13
Route: Coconut-40
Ride Time: 2:06:48
Stopped Time: 34:20
Distance: 37.34 miles
Average: 17.67 mph
Fastest Speed: 25.87 mph
Calories: 1926
Cycle This Month: 318.98 miles
Cycle This Year: 1476.22 miles

Click for Ride Data

Thursday, March 14
Route: Naples Tour
Ride Time: 2:24:57
Stopped Time: 1:33:52
Distance: 33.16 miles
Average: 13.73 mph
Fastest Speed: 24.07 mph
Calories: 1900
Cycle This Month: 352.14 miles
Cycle This Year: 1509.39 miles

Click for Ride Data

Leave a Reply

