Click-Click, Click-Click

OK, perhaps I’m pushing it just a little bit. 230 miles of riding on a recently rolled ankle might just be overdoing it. The last two days of riding have felt pretty good, but on the return from today’s 40 miler, I felt a distinct clicking. At first I thought it was my pedal, but I soon realized it was coming from my ankle. There was no pain, just a very evident clicking, which can’t be good, so I dropped into an easier gear, reduced my speed and spun at an easy 90 RPM for the remaining 8 or so miles of the ride.

Mid ride shenanigans...perhaps we need to cut back on the caffein.
Mid ride shenanigans…perhaps we need to cut back on the caffein.

After the ride I went into MD mode (Me Doctor, or as those which know me well would say, Mad Doctor) and found nothing really out of the ordinary, just some minor soreness, which is still expected being less than a week out from the incident. Just to be on the safe side, I did a little post ride icing and will be keeping it propped up tonight. Hopefully this is not a setback and just chalk it up to the cold windy morning. I’ll continue to keep running on hold at least until next week, but I’ll go ahead and test my ankle with a few more miles tomorrow.

Friday, March 15
Route: Coconut-40 + Airport Loop
Ride Time: 2:49:38
Stopped Time: 2:43:28
Distance: 45.87 miles
Average: 16.22 mph
Fastest Speed: 25.12 mph
Calories: 2382
Cycle This Month: 398.01 miles
Cycle This Year: 1555.26 miles

Click for Ride Data

Leave a Reply

