Lacing Up, Day Twelve: Foot-gasm

After an extended twenty day break from running to rest my ankle and fight a round of the crud, I was anxious to get out and run, especially since I finally have some new sneaks to test out. As an added treat, I was also going to run with my wife. Curiously that lead to a bit of a dilemma since she was farther along with her training program than I was. Although she was still doing some walk/run combinations, her week six run intervals were substantially longer than my week four intervals, leaving us badly out of sync. Not wanting to trail behind, I just went ahead and fast forwarded to week six, skipping weeks four and five. If I was biting off more than I could chew, I could just easily dial it back, or walk a bit more, regardless, it was going to be a great way to test out the new sneaks.

newsneaks

I guess I should officially reveal that I decided to go with the Brooks Adrenalin 13. They fit great…I have a wide foot so the extra width and generous toebox was welcomed, felt amazing when running on the treadmill, and they did not look like they were in a technicolor explosion. Curiously, I was hoping for a little more flash, but the wider 4E width only was available in a Dallas Cowboy-ish silver/blue/black/white combo. It’s an attractive shoe, but I was hoping for a little more pizzazz, say like a splash of acidic green to liven things up a bit. The important thing though was that they fit well, provided the support I needed and above all were extremely comfortable.

Speaking of comfort, running in the Adrenalins was a night and day difference from running in my old New Balances. This is going to sound very cliché, but it felt like I was running on a cloud. Not only was all the jarring and constant thump, thump, thump gone, but there was an all new spring in my stride as the shoe seemed to literally bounce back after every strike. Quite frankly I was experiencing a bonafide “Foot-gasm”. I was running easier and faster with the same effort as before, and….get this, I actually had a big smile on my face too….and mind you, no one smiles when they are running, well at least not like they do when cycling…yet there I was grinning ear to ear, and actually singing (hey I had a good playlist going) out loud while running! I knew there was going to be some difference with proper footwear, but not this much. Did I just find running nirvana? Perhaps not, but running is certainly sucking a whole lot less now.

Running: 5K Plan
Run Time: 35:27
Stopped Time: 4:12
Distance: 3.07 miles
Average: 11:34 /mile
Fastest Pace: 9:02 /mile
Calories: 382
5K This Month: 11.17 miles
5K This Year: 31.27 miles

Click for Run Data

Leave a Reply

