Lacing Up, Day Seventeen: Raisin Bran Crunch Encore

Being the running newbie that I am, I made the mistake of fueling up this morning with a bowl of Raisin Bran Crunch and orange juice, a typical cycling day breakfast for me, before heading out on this mornings run. You’d think I’d have known better, especially after having experienced the “post breakfast tummy sloshing” on one of my first runs, but noooo, those bran flakes and raisins with crunchy honey-oat granola clusters were calling out to me this morning. Remembering the previous experience, I made it a point to wait a couple hours to let the digestion kick in, but unfortunately, it was not enough.

IMG_0482

I wasn’t even a mile into the run when those previously delicious raisins, bran flakes and granola made an unexpected encore in the back of my throat…trust me Raisin Bran Crunch does not taste nearly as good the second time around! Bad enough that it happened once, but the ovation must have been thunderous as a few minutes later those two scoops of raisins took to the stage again for another curtain call.

Needless to say, my choice of breakfast pretty much ruined the run for me today. I’m still trying to figure out what the best pre run fuel is. Perhaps I should just skip eating all together as my runs are still relatively short, but sooner or later I’ll have to figure out what the correct foods are as there is no way I’d be able to run long distances on an empty stomach, and forget about fueling mid run like we cyclists do while riding…it would be nearly impossible to eat when running. Sure there are the standard gels, chomps and bloks, but formulated power bars and gels are never a good substitute for real food…well at least on the bike.

Obviously I need to do a bit more research an playing around with running nutrition, but one thing is for sure, I’ll make it a point to avoid all cereals from here on out!

Running: 5K Plan
Run Time: 32:06
Stopped Time: 1:42
Distance: 2.77 miles
Average: 11:36 /mile
Fastest Pace: 8:59 /mile
Calories: 321
5K This Month: 9.21 miles
5K This Year: 46.91 miles

Click for Run Data

Leave a Reply

