478 Days

One year, three months, and 21 days, four hundred seventy-eight days, eleven thousand four hundred seventy-two hours, six hundred eighty-eight thousand three hundred twenty minutes, forty-one million two hundred ninety-nine thousand two hundred seconds…has it really been that long since I last shared my verborrheic ramblings about my two wheeled and and running shenanigans?

Apparently my move from the friendly confines of Southwest Florida to the Big Guava was more disruptive than I ever thought it would be. Adjusting to new surroundings, schedules, activities, people, places and things, definitely made settling in far longer than expected. My days were anything but routine, and some guilty pleasures, like writing this blog, were pushed aside, uncerimoniously sidelined until my routine was really routine.

Unlike this blog, I have not been idle, as I continue to rack up the miles on The Mistress as well as thump down the pavement in The Slippers of Pain. My miles declined at first, but gradually increased as I discovered new routes, made new friends, joined the local bike clubs, and most importantly, found/made the time to pursue my passion for keeping the rubber side down.

But what of this blog? Can it be resuscitated…should it be? Can I keep kicking this proverbial and apparent dead horse and bring it back to life? Sadly, the answer is no. The Century Trek Blog has been put out to pasture.

WTF dude? Really? No mas?

Yep, It’s over. This old dead horse was put out to pasture and sent to a glue factory quite a while ago.

What? Over? Did you say “over”? Nothing is over until we decide it is! Was it over when the Germans bombed Pearl Harbor?

Germans?

Forget it. He’s rolling.

…it ain’t over now. ‘Cause when the goin’ gets tough…

<insert record scratch>

You know what? He’s right. The Century Trek Blog may be a distant memory….or perhaps a glue stick, but as is written in the sacred code of the Velominati, it’s time to HTFU and get back to hunting and pecking my way around the keyboard, doing my best to keep you all entertained about our two wheeled, and laced up escapades.

So I officially present and welcome you to The Rubber Side Down. An all new blog, featuring an all new look, and the same old miscellaneous ramblings from me and other fellow cyclists, runners, swimmer, walkers, hikers, and undeniably cool peeps who share this crazy passion of being outdoors, and sweating up a storm down here in sunny Florida.

Free your mind and your legs will follow!

 

3 thoughts on “478 Days

Leave a Reply

